Focusing my sight

27 Apr

There are so many changes going on in life right now, its been so easy to get caught up in the race of what’s going on. I am trying not to get too lost in it, and allow the sins that humans are so bent on invade my heart, but with wedding plans it seems to be like walking through a minefield blindfolded.

I spent most of yesterday in constant prayer for my heart to not be captured by the feelings of self-centered, anger, jealousy, hurt, pride, aloneness, frustration, self-satisfaction, boastfulness, and desire that so easily invade us when we take our eyes off of what really matters.

I am learning to not let a lot of what is going on around me to not affect me, but there are still sometimes when I let it in. My heart is most susceptible to feelings of aloneness, frustration, and hurt most often than anything else. I must guard against these sins, and learn how to protect myself from them.

These passages have been weighing on me a lot lately. I’ve been meditating over them quite a bit.

Deuteronomy 31:6

6 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Romans 6:23

23For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Leave a Reply

