10 things you should know about me

6 Jul

10. I hate eggs. Every morning I pull them off of my breakfast sandwich. I think they’re slimy and gross.

9. I love to cook, but I hate cooking easy/quick things. That doesn’t take any talent. The longer a meal takes to make, the happier I am.

8. I hate confrontation, and get cold and shake. I’m pretty sure this is based on my instinctual fight or flight reflexes, and makes me fear that I would be dead in a primitive setting.

7. I love learning, and one of the things I look forward to most is reading with our children, and teaching them to read. I can’t imagine a life where I’m not constantly trying to learn something about the world around me.

6. I love tv. Seriously. And not only tv, but reality tv. I’m trying to cut down on how much I watch because so much of it is sinful and not God-honoring. Right now my top favorite tv shows are Criminal Minds, Top Chef, Burn Notice, and Royal Pains. Jason and I have also gotten into Lie to Me recently.

5. My life has drastically changed since I came to know Jesus. I am a totally different person than I was, and all of that is owed to my deep and heartfelt desire that I honor God and the things He has given me with everything I do. If you’d like to hear my testimony some day, I’d love to share it with you. It really is a miracle I’m still alive.

4. I am trying to become fluent in Spanish, and most of the time I talk to myself (either outloud or in my head) its in Spanish. I also often dream in Spanish.

3. Before our honeymoon, the only beaches I had ever been to are Oregon (which was waaaaay too cold) and Galveston (which was waaaaay too….yuck). I have now found since going to the Caribbean that I love the beach, the sun, the water, and especially sailing. I promise soon I will blog about the sailing trip. I’m such a fail!

2. The two countries that have always had a place in my heart, even before I really knew it, are Somalia and Bolivia. Both of these war savaged and beaten countries are constantly at the forefront of my mind. I pray for these countries constantly, and hope to some day be able to go there and make some kind of difference in these people’s lives.

1. I love people. I believe that in all people is the capability of being good, decent, human beings. I also believe that the world teaches us that good, decent, human beings don’t come out ahead. I believe that we are taught to fight, compete, smear, and degrade others just by the culture we live in. This makes me sad to my core, and I refuse to be this way.

One Response to “10 things you should know about me”

  1. TTBarry July 25, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    I love the way you write! 😀

    Burn Notice New Season

Leave a Reply

