Everyones A Critic

1 Dec

Since I was down for 6 weeks because of my surgery (post coming soon), and Jason gave me a Nook for my birthday, I thought I’d list what books I read, and give this critics opinion on each, in case you’re looking for some reading material!

Uglies Series (Uglies, Pretties, Specials) by Scott Westerfield: love. Love. LOVE. These 3 books were so amazing, and I couldn’t put them down. They make a powerful statement as to what society is on the verge of becoming, and how it doesn’t hurt to be a little bit of a troublemaker sometimes.

Sunday’s At Tiffany’s by James Patterson: I did not like this book. It felt awkward and random. If I wouldn’t have had so much free time, I would have quit reading it.

A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick: This book was awful. Terrible. I didn’t like it one bit. Everything about it felt awkward and wrong.

Secrets of a Shoe Addict by Beth Harbison: This was a wonderful fluffy book. Super cute and entertaining. I loved reading this one.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay: This book was simply amazing. Astounding. It inspired me to learn more about how the Holocaust affected other countries, not just those in Germany. And it made me cry like crazy.

As Husbands Go by Susan Isaacs: I loved this book, right up to the end. It was so good, until it just magically, and far too easily ended. I was really disappointed.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett: O.M.G. I loved this book. Most of it was written in “Southern Speak”, and it was simply amazing. I loved each and every word of it.

Choosing to SEE by Mary Beth Chapman: I think everyone should read this book. It has wrecked my life in how I love, how I act, and I’m sure how I will parent. It seriously changed my life, and I am so thankful that Steven Curtis and Mary Beth Chapman told their story.

Adopted for Life by Russell D. Moore: I am currently reading this, and hope to have a new perspective and passion in my heart about adoption.

I still have a ton on my “to read” list, and hopefully over the holidays I’ll have some down time to. But for right now its healing, getting ready for Christmas, and getting our apartment in order first!

 

Leave a Reply

