Book Review Time!

31 Aug

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller: Again, another book that so many people love, but I just found meh. He makes so many good points about the Christian faith, but I have really issues with how self focused this book is. Maybe he meant it to be read like a journal, but it was really off-putting to me. Maybe I just need to reflect more on myself. I’m not sure.

White Oleander by Janet Fitch: Ok, so this book is not one you should take on lightly. It is a raw, emotional, no holds barred fictional story about Astrid Maggnusen’s journey through the foster care system in California. It took me a while to chew through all this book was about, and it really hit me how many foster homes there are that are absolutely nothing but torture for the children held there. This book had a lot of drug/sex/language, but overall it was ah-maz-ing.

The Conception Chronicles by Patti Doyle Debano: This was an awesomely hilarious book about the drama that wanna-be mamas who are having a hard time conceiving go through. This book walks you through each stage of the infertility path (from diagnosis, testing, clomid, IUI, IVF, surrogates, adoption) with humor. This helps the reader find the light hearted moments in the midst of all the clinicalness, and helps remind you that its ok to laugh at the ridiculous situations and conversations you have to have when you are struggling to increase your family. In a strange way, I feel more prepared for the path ahead from reading this book than from the clinical books and articles. Its so good!

They Poured Fire on Us From the Sky by Benson Deng: This book was amazing. Its the story of several young boys, and their journey from their villages in Sudan during the Sundanese Wars. I think that this book is important for us to read, because it puts in perspective the role wars have on young children, and what it does to them.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot: This book is really hard for me to read. I usually love YA, but this was written really strangely. However, it was still a really cute, quick read. Most of it is similar to the movie, but its also quite different.

Modern History of the Somali by I.M. Lewis: This is a text-style book, but I enjoyed reading it to learn more about the country of Somalia. As I’ve mentioned previously,  I have a special place in my heart for the country, so I loved getting to know more about the politics and history.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Love. Love. Love. Love. Love. This book is so amazing. What a powerful statement on governments, and the brutality that they can impart on their citizens. I wish I could recommend this book enough, but there are no words to describe how much I loved it. Its a powerful political statement, and an amazingly entertaining read.

Currently reading: Catching Fire (Hunger Games Book #2), A Patient’s Guide to PCOS

Leave a Reply

